A New Journey: Becoming an ESL Teacher

I am so excited to embark on the journey of becoming an ESL/ELL teacher! This has always been a dream of mine and I was pleasantly surprised to be hired as an ELL teacher this school year in Lexington, Kentucky. I have a Masters degree in Teacher Leadership/Reading and completed one course toward the ESL endorsement a couple of years ago. This will be the first time that I am working full time and in graduate school. I am nervous but looking forward to the challenge.

This blog will help me on my journey and will provide other teachers with resources, strategies and information for teaching English Language Learners.

The first link that I want to share is the English Learner Took Kit from the Department of Education. This link provides teachers with the guidelines for the legal obligations to English Language Learners under civil rights laws.

English Learner Tool Kit – US DOE

Leave a Reply

